Copyright © 2018 West Spreydon School  New Zealand| Website Created by Meltec

Enrolment Zone

Downloadable Documents

The Ministry of Education has confirmed our school enrolment zone which came into effect in March 2018
There is now more rigorous paperwork that needs to be completed showing an intent to enrol and also a pre-enrolment form to complete whether in zone or out of zone. Please find the intent to enrol forms attached to complete and return to school as soon as possible.

About Our Enrolment Zone:
All Children living in our enrolment zone are entitled to attend West Spreydon School. Enrolments are taken at all levels throughout the year. The board will determine if there are places available for out of zone applications. You will be notified of the board's decision on an annual basis.

Our school enrolment zone encompasses the following areas:
All students who live within the home zone described below and/or shown on the attached map shall be entitled to enrol at the school.
West Spreydon School ,147 Lyttelton St
Ph:    (03) 338 8184
Fax:  (03) 338 8348
Text for absences:    021 034 7056

Contact Details

Contact Us


An Interactive Google Map of our school zone can be viewed here
Written Description:
Starting from the intersection of Frankleigh Street and Barrington Street, and proceeding in a counter-clockwise manner,
●  North west on the South west side only of Barrington Street to the Christchurch Southern Motorway,
●  West along the south side only of the Christchurch Southern Motorway to the Lincoln Road overpass,
●  South west along the south east side only of Lincoln Road to Lyttelton Street,
●  South east on Lyttelton Street to Edinburgh Street,
●  South west on Edinburgh Street to Willis Place
●  South east on Willis Place to the end of cul-de-sac
●  From the southern end of Willis Place directly across to the north west end of Countess Lane
●  South east on Countess Place to Neville Street
●  South west on Neville Street to Domain Terrace
●  South west across the Spreydon Domain to the Heathcote River
●  South east along the north east bank of the Heathcote River to Sparks Road
●  East along the north side only of Sparks Road to Frankleigh Street
●  North east along the north side only of Frankleigh Street to Barrington Street
The Board of Trustees have balanced Ministry of Education government policy with the journey of our school.  Based on the best information we have at hand we estimate that we can make the decision to hold a zone ballot for 2019.  The Board of Trustees have estimated the number of in-zone enrolments and calculated that we have spaces for up to 10 out-of-zone enrolments for 2019. The out-of-zone enrolment applicants will go into a ballot.

This ballot is open to all levels from New Entrant to Year 6 students. The up to 10 out-of-zone enrolments will be split into:
●  up to 5 enrolments in Terms 1 and 2 2019
●  up to 5 enrolments in Terms 3 and 4 2019

For children who wish to enrol in Terms 1 & 2, 2019
Advertisement Date: Thursday 27 September 2018
Application Deadline: 3pm on Wednesday 17 October 2018
Ballot Date: Friday 19 October 2018

For children who wish to enrol in Terms 3 & 4, 2019
Advertisement Date: Wednesday 1 May 2019
Application Deadline: 3pm on Wednesday 29 May 2019
Ballot Date: Friday 31 May 2019

The priorities are standard across all schools they are:
●  siblings of current students
●  siblings of former students
●  children of former students
●  children of board employees or board members
●  all other applicants

Before the ballot is drawn the Board of Trustees may revise the number of out-of-zone students we will accept based on the numbers of in-zone enrolments received for 2019.  You will be notified within 3 school days after the ballot has been drawn whether you have been successful or not. If you haven't been successful you will be placed on a waiting list based on the position that your application was drawn out of the ballot. If you are successful you have 14 days to respond to the board with your acceptance once you have been notified.

Ngā mihi nui
Duane Major
Chairman of West Spreydon School Board of Trustees